Home > General > Considering a Freelander 2
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
shorn

United Kingdom 
Considering a Freelander 2

Hi all,

I'm currently in the market for a new (to me) car. I've always been keen on an SUV type, mainly due to the riding position, and the extra space over a hatchback.

I took a 56 X3 out for a test drive a couple of days ago. Wasn't blown away by it.

I took a Freelander 2 out this morning and really enjoyed it. Felt way smoother compared to the X3, and overall felt like a nice place to be.

So it's certainly on my radar, but i have no experience with them whatsoever, so though it might be worth asking for peoples opinions/thoughts here. I appreciate that the bias will probably sway towards one, being a forum dedicated to them, but i'd rather hear form people that own them.

So I wil have a budget of around 10k. I'm not entirely sure what I should be expecting for that, mileage wise etc. Is there anything to look out for/avoid?

I'm hoping I should be able to get something in very good condition. The one I took out this morning was about 8k, had a shade under 100k on it, and although OK, the overall condition was fairly worn. It also had the cream coloured interior, so I doubt that helped.

I'll be using the car, in the main, for a relatively small daily commute, about 35miles round trip. Mostly motorway, but at that time of the day, it's relatively slow moving motorway. Other than that, the wife and 2 kids/2 dogs will hopefully benefit from the additional space over our current hatchback.

I believe tax will be around the £260-£290 mark depending on model. That's ok. Mileage wise, I'd be interested to know peoples thoughts on running costs.

Love to have some input. Cheers!

Post #291945 28th Feb 2016 1:39 pm
le bouch

United Kingdom 2010 Freelander 2 TD4_e GS Manual Santorini Black

Some random thoughts...

I guess you'll pick up a 2009-ish one for £10k?