« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > General > JLR to cut back production
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 4 <1234>
Print this entire topic · 
MartynB

United Kingdom 2009 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Auto Zermatt Silver

Tigger wrote:

There’s no tax relief to be had by spending cash on a car. if you’ve got the cash spare to do that you could easily be better off taking the tax relief by using it to put regular payments into a pension fund instead. But then, I work with finance agreements for a living and I’m probably more comfortable with turning them to my advantage Thumbs Up

Your points above are very true , especially leveraging AVCs. The only thing that matters with a vehicle at the end of the day is what your overall total cost of ownership is and that has to include the opportunity cost of buy v lease . I do think however it is far too easy for financ houses to lend irresponsibly .

Interestingly the Scooby dealer has a garage full of low mileage Porsche , Aston , etc . The main customers are retired people looking to dispose of cash as at a certain point in life you have to spend it whilst you can enjoy it 2009 GS Auto Zermatt Silver - Sold June 21 after 10 years of ownership

2016 Subaru Outback SE 2.0 diesel SE Premium Lineartronic Sold 2024 after 8 years and 80k miles . Best Car I ever owned !

2023 Toyota Hilux invincible X 2.8 Auto .

Post #340366 24th Jan 2018 2:36 pm
Largered

tenet wrote:
I'm In - will end up meaning I'm In the Censored !

You will be if you don't make any provision for your future. Neutral

tenet, I never took out a pension. But what I did do was to work hard and retire at 48, with enough to keep me going into my latter years.
Why 'gamble' with your future, when you can be certain of it !

Too many follow the 'sheep' ..... be a BULL !!

.....but thanks for your concern ..... Whistle

Post #340371 24th Jan 2018 3:13 pm
Tigger

United Kingdom 

Yorky Bob wrote: