Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > General > FL2 v Disco 3
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 2 of 2 <12
Print this entire topic · 
Steve D

United Kingdom 

Thanks for all your advice so far fella's. I think the FL2 will be more suited to my needs - I don't really need all the gizmo's or space of the D3 and despite being a mechanic by trade I could do without the aggro and expense of running one. The car will mainly be used on the road with my wife being the main user and will only be carrying a medium sized cocker spaniel about - I'm assuming the boot will be big enough - we have a Golf at the moment and despite reading that the boot on the FL being a tad on the sall side, it's got to be bigger than a Golf! I'd quite like to try a bit of green laning in the future - nothing too wild so the FL should suit our needs. I think I'll spend some time looking for the right one. I'll start looking for an HSE auto. I'll no doubt be back to ask more questions. I'll let you know how I get on.

Post #168298 20th Jan 2013 8:52 pm
ruggedpeak

United Kingdom 

Hi Steve

Hope you've got sorted out. We have both, a D3 for me and a F2 for SWMBO.

The D3 is an amazing vehicle and if you go overland trips and off roading, and go on holiday with 2 kids, 4 bikes, a canoe and a caravan nothing will touch it (I don't have a caravan but I know people who have lowered themselves Whistle ). Period. I'm into offroad and overland and have graduated from 90's through RRC's, D1, D2, and now the D3. The RRC was quick and cheap, but I needed an off road vehicle that had modern safety features, and 1 test drive in a D3 had me sold.

If it is just SWMBO and the dog, a D3 is completely over the top. They are expensive to run, very expensive if they wrong, but as you will see at disco3.co.uk their foibles are well known now and there are plenty of people with the gizmos to deal with the electronics.