« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > General > looking to buy first freelander 2
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
lloyd2199

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 TD4 Dynamic Auto Santorini Black
looking to buy first freelander 2

hi, i am currently looking at buying a 2007 freelander 2 hse with hst body kit. its bein advertised for 14999 with 100 tho on the clock. it has a full landrover service history and i think its a ex company car. i plan to take this car with me to germany so lots of long drives down the auto bahns. i will be keeping the car til it dies (wifes orders) so resale not a problem. does this sound a good price and is the engine going to be upto the job of giving me years of happy motoring. i am a army mechanic so have worked with landrover for few years now jus our defenders arnt as complicated as a freelander, but i know how to work on them quite well. whats been the main problems everyone has had? i have read about the gearbox problem but would hope that would already have been fixed.
any help would be greatly appricated Thumbs Up

Post #100252 29th Apr 2011 7:48 am
superspark

United Kingdom 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 SE Manual Izmir Blue

Hi,for about £4000 more you can get one with a hell of lot less miles on if you wanted too. On the other hand I would of thought that any duff gear boxes etc would have been changed long before it reached that high millage.
I know some one who has a hse with nearly 90,000 miles on the clock and never had any problems. Diesel engines now adays if properly serviced will go for many many more miles than the first 100,000 if properly serviced.
However my main concern would be the timming belt, yes its a belt not a chain, check to see if it has been changed yet and if so how many miles ago.
the service interval is I think 120,000 miles but to me thats way to long for a rubber belt and rollers.